Remember “The Dark Crystal”?

September 2, 2007

Recognize this… one of the biggest influences on the world of Auralia’s Colors?

This is my favorite fantasy-film movie poster of all time.

There’s just something enthralling about the textures, colors, and stunning character design. And it takes me back 25 years to that first rush of excitement I felt as I watched Jim Henson’s brilliant big-screen fantasy. These hand-crafted puppets came alive so convincingly that I was able to ignore the voice-over narration (some of the worst in movie history).

Trevor Jones’ original score for the film… which I purchased on vinyl, and just learned is finally going to be released on CD… remains one of my all-time favorites, drawing me into a world I always hoped to explore further. 

My love for Henson’s work, and for Brian Froud’s gorgeous designs, continues. My wife Anne knows this, and she surprised me on my birthday a couple of years ago with this beautiful hardbound book:

And now there’s good news for all fantasy fans.

Are you ready to go back to the land of the Skeksis and the Ur-ru? (The Amazon link in that story is wrong. It should take you to this.)

As reported earlier, the first installment in the highly anticipated “Legends of the Dark Crystal” series will be released later this year. The graphic novel, entitled “Legends of the Dark Crystal 1: The Garthim Wars“, is expected to hit store shelves on November 13, 2007. …

Leave a Reply

