Where’s Auralia today? EVERYWHERE!

September 5, 2007

Today, reports are coming in of Auralia sightings at:

Third Place Books: An amazing independent bookstore in Seattle, where fiction connossieur Adam Walter has placed Auralia’s Colors on the Staff Picks shelf, alongside his capsule review:

This smart, lively cautionary tale chronicles the strange history of a kingdom destroying itself over a fundamental misunderstanding about the purpose of Beauty. The first volume in a new epic, Overstreet’s novel often feels like a fantasy counterpart to Fahrenheit 451. And in terms of storytelling, it reads like a surprising intersection between the styles of Bradbury, Patricia McKillip, and Kate DiCamillo. He’ll be in the store for a reading on September 22. See you there! –Adam

This note came in from New York City’s SuperFastReader over at the Looking Closer Journal:

Just bought a copy at the Barnes & Noble on Union Square in New York City… am very excited to read! When I asked the salesclerk if they had it, she said, “Oh! We had a huge display, but we had to take it down for the Bill Clinton event.” Hopefully they will be putting it back up… 

“Hopefully” … indeed! A “huge display”? If anybody out there sees this display, I’d sure love to see it. Snap a photo, and I’ll put it up on this blog. 

I filled out an interview questionairre for Kelly Klepfer’s blog, Scrambled Dregs, and you can catch me rambling on about this and that and Auralia’s Colors there. Kelly writes:

… this is not a quick read because I’ve found myself stopping to savor some delicious writing. So, I look forward to offering a full review in November. In the meantime, lovers of language, of different worlds and compelling stories may want to … read more about Auralia’s Colors.

Elsewhere, Opus calls it “a very enjoyable and fanciful work, part Neil Gaiman and part Mervyn Peake.”

And last night, somewhere in Seattle, a young man named Eric got a copy for his birthday, and his older brother Andrew snatched it away, read the first four chapters, and emailed me to say:

I will have to go pick one up so I can get my own signed copy. I’m in the fourth chapter and I must say I haven’t been this intrigued since Harry Potter.

And I thought writing the book was fun. But my mailbox is full of great surprises so far this week.

Check back! More updates are coming in as Auralia’s Release Week unfolds.

Leave a Reply

