Lori Fox wants to tell you about “Auralia’s Colors”

December 4, 2007

TitleTrakks review Lori Fox turned in this review.

And what can I do but say “Thank you!”

At her blog, she continued:

… let me tell you — that book was good!

Absolutely unbelievable, actually. I was quite skeptical before I started actually reading it since… well, how can the absence of color really make a good plot point? It just does. I’m not saying that to gloss over it- I mean it. It just does. It’s in the way he weaves his characters, the culture, the land, everything together. It all builds up into something brilliant.

And we’ve all heard about “poetic prose” and roll our eyes. How trite. What a cop out. You use it to gloss over a weak story. Wrong. There are parts of Auralia’s Colors that actually sing, and mesmerize. Repeatedly, I found myself drifting along on the mental sounds of the words and the pictures they conveyed, only to snap my mind back to the story. It’s like masterful epic poetry crossed with a fantasy legend’s best novel. Only better.

2 Responses to “Lori Fox wants to tell you about “Auralia’s Colors””

  1. WordVixen Says:

    Thanks so much for the link! And Auralia’s Colors is absolutely the best fantasy I’ve read in a long time. I can’t wait for Cyndere’s Midnight. No chance of speeding up publishing? 🙂

  2. Joel Says:

    How can anyone call “poetic prose” trite and a cop-out post-Tolkien??

Leave a Reply

